Mickel & Dees selected to 4A State Tourney Team

by Carey Meitzler


          Wayne Mickel                                 Chris Dees

The Picayune Maroon Tide's Wayne Mickel and Chris Dees were selected for the Class 4A Boys State Tournament team

that was announced on Friday immediately after the 4A Championship game won by Lanier 74-69 over New Hope.

Mickel, a 5-9 senior guard, and Dees, a 6-3 junior forward, were a big part of Picayune's drive to the state semi finals before

losing to eventual champion Lanier.  Picayune posted a sparkling 30-6 record and captured the Region 8-4A regular season

title, the Region 8-4A tournament championship, and the South State Championship.

The entire team selected includes:

Picayune: Wayne Mickel, Chris Dees

St Stanislaus: Pedro Maciel

Oxford: Keith Searcy, Cedrick Hillard 

Laurel: Kerry Carter 

New Hope: Ray Knight, Dale Hughes, Rashanti Harris

Lanier: Benjamin George, Lamar Williams, R.L. Horton